Official Adoption Map

Welcome to the NPBEA official Adoption Standards Map!

Mouse over any state to see their adoption status. Click on a state to see more information and helpful resources.

Adopted PSEL Blue
Aligned State Standards to PSEL Green
State Developed Standards Yellow
Adopted NELP Standards Red

Does your State's information need to be updating? There is a request form in the footer if you need updates.

Official Adoption Map
Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming


Alabama has adopted the Alabama Standards for Instructional Leaders.

Source: Alaska Admin. Code tit. 4, § 04.200


Alaska has adopted state content and performance standards for administrators.


Yes. Arizona has adopted the Professional Administrative Standards (identical to the 2015 PSEL standards).


Arkansas has adopted the Standards for School Administrators in Arkansas (identical to the 2008 ISLLC standards).

Arkansas has also adopted the Professional Standards for Educator Leaders (identical to the 2015 PSEL standards). The Educator Licensure Rules state that programs must align to the current Arkansas educator competencies. Our 2018 competency revision is an adoption/adaptation of the PSEL and NELP standards.

Educator Licensure RulesAdministrator-District Level Superintendent P-12 (2018)Administrator-School Level-Principal P-12 (2018)Curriculum Administrator K-12 (2020)Cal. Educ. Code § 44671



California has adopted the California Professional Standards for Education Leaders.

1 Colo. Code Regs. § 301-37:2260.5-R-6.00 through 1 Colo. Code Regs. § 301-37:2260.5-R-6.07


Colorado has adopted the Principal Quality Standards.



Yes. Connecticut has adopted the Connecticut School Leadership Standards.

14 Del. Admin. Code 1590


Delaware has adopted the Delaware Administrator Standards (identical to the 2015 PSEL standards).


Yes. Florida has adopted the Florida Principal Leadership Standards.

Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r. 6A-5.080


Georgia has adopted the 2015 Georgia Educational Leadership Standards.



Hawaii has adopted domains of leadership.



Idaho has adopted the Idaho Standards for School Principals (identical to 2015 PSEL standards).

Idaho Education Rule 08-0202-1701


Illinois has adopted the Illinois Professional School Leader Standards (identical to the 2008 ISLLC standards).

Ill. Admin. Code tit. 23, § 29.100


Yes. Indiana has adopted the Indiana Educator Standards for School Leader -Building Level.


Yes. Kansas has adopted the Kansas Licensure Program Standards for Building Level Leadership. Kansas’ Building Leadership and District Leadership program standards were locally created based on the NELP standards.

The standards are posted in KSDE’s Regulations and Standards for Kansas Educators and on the KSDE website:

Regulations and Standards, see pages 354-373: Education Program Standards:


Yes. Kentucky has adopted the Principal Performance Standards.


Yes. Louisiana has adopted the Standards for Educational Leaders in Louisiana.

28 La. Admin. Code Pt CXXXVII, 303


Maine has adopted Administrator Candidate Standards.

Code Me. R. tit. 05-071 Ch. 114, § 2


 Maryland has adopted the 2015 PSEL standards.



Massachusetts has adopted the Professional Standards for Administrative Leadership.

603 Mass. Code Regs. 7.10


Michigan has adopted the Michigan Standards for the Preparation of School Principals (identical to the 2011 ELCC standards).

On August 10, 2021 our State Board of Education adopted the NELP standards as our preparation standards for Elementary and Secondary K-12 Administrator preparation and Central Office Administrator preparation.


Additional Resources


Minnesota has adopted the core leadership competencies for administrative licenses and additional principal competencies.

Minn. R. 3512.0510


Missouri has adopted the Missouri Leader Standards.



Montana has adopted the Professional Educator Preparation Program Standards for School Principals, Supervisors and Curriculum Directors.

Mont. Admin. R. 10.58.705


Yes. Nebraska has adopted the Nebraska Performance Framework for Principals.

Locally developed standards aligned to PSEL—approved by State Board not in regulation.



Nevada has adopted the School Administrator Instructional Leadership Standards and Indicators.

Nev. Admin. Code 391.572

New Hampshire

New Hampshire has adopted principal skills, competencies and knowledge standards.

NH ADC ED 506.04

New Jersey

New Jersey has adopted the Professional Standards for School Leaders (identical to the 2015 PSEL standards).

N.J. Admin. Code § 6A:9-3.4

New Mexico

 New Mexico has adopted state administrator licensure competencies and indicators.

N.M. Admin. Code 6.62.2

New York

New York has adopted the Professional Standards for Educational Leaders (identical to the 2015 PSEL standards).

North Carolina

North Carolina has adopted the North Carolina School Executive Standards.

North Carolina State Board Policy EVAL-030

North Dakota

 North Dakota has adopted the 2008 ISLLC standards.



Ohio has adopted the Ohio Standards for Principals.

Ohio Admin. Code 3301-24-09


Oklahoma has adopted competencies for licensure and certification of administrative personnel.

Okla. Admin. Code 210:20-9-181 through Okla. Admin. Code 210:20-9-189


Oregon has adopted the Educational Leadership for Administrator Licensure Standards. They are also PSEL aligned. Or. Admin. R. 584-018-0205;JSESSIONID_OARD=VW-_BkZt2TxPlFK74c7Ctcormnv_qJZX8SO2-Db77LvvoOlg4VGe!444010641?Crosswalk ToolAdopted Statement of Oregon School Responsibilities


Pennsylvania has adopted the Pennsylvania Leadership Standards.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island has adopted the Standards for Educational Leadership in Rhode Island (identical to the 2008 ISLLC standards).

R.I. Code R. 21-2-49

South Carolina

South Carolina has adopted principal performance standards.

South carolina regulation 43-165PADEPP GuidelinesPadePP Instrument


South Dakota

South Dakota has adopted principal performance standards.

S.D. Admin. R. 24:58:01:01


Tennessee has adopted the Tennessee Instructional Leadership Standards. The Tennessee Instructional Leadership Standards (TILS) were state/locally developed in 2013 and revised in 2018 informed by PSEL, specifically by the Equity Standard (#3)

State Board Policy 5.101


Texas has adopted principal certificate standards.


 Utah has adopted the Utah Educational Leadership Standards. They are primarily based on the PSEL standards with some Utah revisions.

Utah Admin. Code r. R277-530-6


Vermont has adopted the 2015 PSEL standards.



Virginia has adopted the Virginia Performance Standards for School Leaders.



Washington has adopted state standards for principals and program administrators.

Wash. Admin. Code 181-78A-264

West Virginia

Yes. West Virginia has adopted the Standards for Professional Practice for School Principals.

W. Va. Code R. 126-165-5


Yes. Wisconsin has adopted administrator standards.

Wis. Admin. Code PI § 34.03


Wyoming has adopted the 2011 ELCC standards for program approval.

Wyo. Admin. Code ch. 4 § 4